WSU showcases historic images


I love Kansas, and I love where I am from, which is Canton in McPherson County.

It was a wonderful place to grow up, and I am fascinated by the history of the community. Thanks to Wichita State University and its Libraries Information System Special Collections and University Archives I can learn more about the place I call home, including nearby Galva which is part of the Canton-Galva Unified School District No. 419 and where my mother grew up. Also, I can check out my current home — Ransom.

Thanks to the Kansas Sampler Foundation of Inman, I learned that WSU is hosting historic photos of Kansas towns.

The photos are broken down by counties and then towns. It is pretty cool. You can check it out here: http://specialcollections.wichita.edu/kw/index.asp.

And because I think this is so neat, I’m going to share a few images from the collection with you below:

Aerial View of Canton (via WSU Special Collections)

Galva Public School (via WSU Special Collections)

East Side of Ransom Main Street (via WSU Special Collections)

Leave a Reply

